BELFAST Located within Western NY Wilds.
Many cultures created Belfast, NY. The English were attracted to this area by the lush lumber supply and acquired it from the Seneca Indian tribe who called it "home." Many Irish folks came to work in the lumber industry, and they were soon followed by Italians who infiltrated the area when a large and impressive railroad infrastructure need to be built through our hilly terrain. Many of these men lost their lives constructing the trellises that spanned this area. Another batch of support immigrants lived in a rowdy area called "Honkey Town." Rumor has it, their motto was "A drink and a fight on a Saturday night."
The Seneca Indians long inhabited this area before the Chamberlain brothers formed farms along the river in 1803.
Town established and named Orrinsburgh. In 1825, residents changed the name to Belfast.
Robert Renwick constructed the second house in the town of Belfast. This house became a spot along the Underground Railroad. Today it sits abandoned along Rt. 19, behind the Belfast Hotel.
The Genessee Valley Canal was completed amid a vibrant logging industry. The Rail & Titsworth Canal Warehouse still stands where thriving businesses once stood on corner of Loftis and Hughes St.
After the Civil War, Belfast became a railroad town hosting three different railroad lines. During this time, many Irish and Italian immigrants came here to help build the rails.
Downtown fire destroyed a block of wooden storefronts along East Main Street.
John L. Sullivan came to Belfast to train with William Muldoon.
Amish families started to relocate from the Lancaster, PA area to here.